Events

Yoga on the Beach – Summer Solstice 

Date: Friday, June 21, 2019
Time: 7:00 PM
Place: Cannery Beach at Glen Haven

There is no better place to experience the Summer Solstice than yoga class with Amy Hubble on the Lake Michigan beach at Glen Haven. After class, stay around and enjoy the sunset!

We will continue to offer Yoga on the Beach classes every Friday at 10 AM from June 28 – August 9 at the Cannery Beach in Glen Haven.

Yoga on Glen Haven Beach – Summer Solstice 2017

 


Walk in the Park!

Date: Tuesdays and Thursdays from July 9 through August 29
Time: 10:00 AM – 11:00 AM
Place: Varies – see below

Our Walk in the Park program is a FREE Volunteer-led walking program that encourages members of the community and Park visitors to get some moderate physical activity, learn more about the history and natural resources in the area you will be walking. Hikes will be led by Kerry Kelly or one of the other volunteers at Friends of Sleeping Bear Dunes. Most of the hikes will be on the Sleeping Bear Heritage Trail, which is a paved trail for easy walking.

This program is part of a state-wide program called Walk Michigan. Parks and trails play a key role in increasing physical activity, which helps prevent obesity and reduce the incidence of chronic medical conditions. It has also been shown to improve mental health and reduce stress.

Schedule: 10:00 AM on the following dates.

Week 1
Tuesday, July 9 = SBHT Glen Haven North
Thursday, July 11 = SBHT Glen Haven South

Week 2
Tuesday, July 16 = SBHT Dune Climb North
Thursday, July 18 = SBHT Dune Climb South

Week 3
Tuesday, July 23 = SBHT Pierce Stocking Drive North
Thursday, July 25 = SBHT Pierce Stocking Drive South

Week 4
Tuesday, July 30 = SBHT Voice Road and Bar Lake Road North
Thursday, August 1 = Treat Farm

Week 5
Tuesday, August 6 = SBHT Bay View Trailhead on Thoreson Road to South
Thursday, August 8 = Bay View Trail at Thoreson Road – High Trail

Week 6
Tuesday, August 13 = SBHT Port Oneida Road South
Thursday, August 15 = Bay View Farm Loop

Week 7
Tuesday, August 20 = SBHT Port Oneida Road North
Thursday August 22 = SBHT Basch Road South

Week 8
Tuesday, August 27 = SBHT Basch Road North
Thursday, August 29 = SBHT Bohemian Road South

Sign Up for our Newsletter

Newsletter